Scholarship Winners Announced

30 Jul 2014

“Learning is not attained by chance. It must be sought for with ardor and attended to with diligence.” Abigail Adams

As I read through the twenty applications for the scholarships to be awarded by NCHE this year, I was impressed by both the ardor and diligence that was displayed by each and every applicant. It is truly amazing what these students accomplish! Each year, I wish that we could award a scholarship to every applicant, because they all are incredible examples of homeschooling at its best.

The NCHE scholarship is a $1,000 one-time award that is provided by NCHE member donations. Each year, two students are chosen for their academic achievement, leadership ability, character and initiative. Molly Fox and Allie Raner are this year’s winners of the NCHE award.

Molly Fox, daughter of Greg and Missy Fox of Raleigh, plans to attend Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, majoring in English or humanities with a double minor in music and Christian studies.






Alexandra Raner, daughter of Greg and Debra Raner of Summerfield, is going to attend Liberty University to pursue her dream of becoming a large animal veterinarian.






The HINTS scholarship, provided each year by the HINTS support group in Charlotte, is a $2,000 one-time award. In addition to the criteria listed for the NCHE scholarship, HINTS award winners must also be active members of their local homeschool support group. This year’s HINTS scholarship winner is Grace Garner.

Grace Garner is the daughter of Laird and Amy Garner of Winston-Salem. She plans to attend the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as a Johnston scholar in the honors program. She intends to double-major in political science and chemistry.


The NCHE board congratulates Molly, Allie and Grace! May God richly bless them as they follow His leading in their lives!


GREENHOUSE is NCHE's flagship publication. 

GREENHOUSE magazine is published fall and spring plus an annual graduate issue in May. GREENHOUSE is mailed to NCHE members.